GovSec Recognizes Contributions of Government Security Leaders with Gov30 Awards

GovSec Recognizes Contributions of Government Security Leaders with Gov30 Awards

GovSec Recognizes Contributions of Government Security Leaders with Gov30 AwardsGovSec – the Government Security Conference and Expo, which also features TREXPO, the Law Enforcement Expo, today announced the individuals who will be honored with the first-ever Gov30 awards. The Gov30 program recognizes 30 leaders for their contributions to the federal, state, or local government security community in 2013. A reception honoring the Gov30 winners will take place during GovSec on Tuesday, May 13, at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center in Washington, D.C.

“We are proud to honor these 30 distinguished individuals for their accomplishments last year,” said Kevin O’Grady, president and group publisher, Security, Safety & Health Group at 1105 Media. “They have gone above and beyond the call of duty in protecting the homeland, preventing cyber attacks, ensuring the physical security of our nation and providing leadership in Washington, D.C.”

Recipients of the 2014 Gov30 award include:

  • Per Björkdahl, chairman of the Steering Committee, ONVIF;
  • Michael Blyth, COO, Risk and Strategic Management Corp. (RSM);
  • David Bunzel, executive director, Physical Security Interoperability Alliance (PSIA);
  • Mike P. Butler, deputy director, Identity Services and Personnel Security and Assurance, Defense Manpower Data Center (DMDC);
  • Sen. Thomas Carper (D-Del.), chairman, U.S. Senate Homeland Security & Government Affairs Committee;
  • Caitlin A. Durkovich, assistant secretary for infrastructure protection, Department of Homeland Security;
  • Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), chairman, U.S. Senate Select Committee on Intelligence;
  • Lt. General Michael T. Flynn, director, Defense Intelligence Agency;
  • Jeffrey Friedland, director of Emergency Management/Homeland Security, Office of Homeland Security/Emergency Management, St. Clair County, Michigan;
  • Dr. Daniel Gerstein, deputy under secretary for Science and Technology, U.S. Department of Homeland Security;
  • Lt. Col. Barry R. Greene, assistant chief of staff G6, New York Guard;
  • Brian Harrell, director of ES-ISAC Operations for the Electricity Sector Information Sharing and Analysis Center at the North American Electric Reliability Corporation (NERC);
  • Rep. Peter T. King (R-N.Y.), member, U.S. House of Representatives Intelligence Committee;
  • Monica Maher, chief of operations, Industrial Control Systems Cyber Emergency Response Team (ICS-CERT);
  • Chuck Manto, chair, InfraGard National EMP SIG;
  • Rep. Michael McCaul (R-Texas), chairman, U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Homeland Security;
  • Major David J. Mulholland, commander, Technical Services, United States Park Police;
  • Derek A. Nagel, acting director, Security Services Directorate, Pentagon Force Protection Agency (PFPA);
  • Mike Namvar, federal systems engineer, McAfee Federal;
  • Capt. Gregory J. Norman, Liberty District commander, United States Park Police;
  • Kshemendra Paul, program manager, Information Sharing Environment (PM-ISE);
  • William Pelgrin, president and CEO, Multi-State Information Sharing & Analysis Center (MS-ISAC);
  • Maria A. Roat, executive director, Federal Risk and Authorization Management Program (FedRAMP);
  • Rep. Mike Rogers (R-Mich.), chairman, U.S. House of Representatives Intelligence Committee;
  • Dr. Ron R. Ross, NIST Fellow, project ;eader, FISMA Implementation Project, Joint Task Force Transformation Initiative;
  • Michael L. Seger, director for safety and student services, Penn-Harris-Madison School Corp.;
  • Austin L. Smith, executive director, Interagency Security Committee;
  • Keith Stouffer, project leader, Industrial Control System Security Project, National Institute of Standard and Technology (NIST); and
  • Jason White, federal systems engineer, McAfee Federal.

To register or for more information, please visit the GovSec website at The GovSec Expo is free to qualified attendees, but registration is required.

For details of about obtaining media credentials, visit the GovSec Press Center.

Posted on May 07, 2014

  • The Z-Wave Alliance Focuses on the Residential Market The Z-Wave Alliance Focuses on the Residential Market

    Mitchell Klein serves as the executive director of the Z-Wave Alliance, an industry organization that drives numerous initiatives to expand and accelerate the global adoption of smart home and smart cities applications. In this Podcast, we talk about the 2022 State of the Ecosystem, and the fact that technology has brought about almost unimaginable residential security resources. The Alliance also provides education resources as well as looking at expanding technology.

Digital Edition

  • Security Today Magazine - May June 2022

    May / June 2022


    • The Ying and Yang of Security
    • Installing Smart Systems
    • Leveraging Surveillance
    • Using Mobile Data
    • RIP Covid-19

    View This Issue

  • Environmental Protection
  • Occupational Health & Safety
  • Infrastructure Solutions Group
  • Spaces4Learning
  • Campus Security & Life Safety