ESX Announces D’Ascoli As New President

The Electronic Security Association (ESA) announced the results of the 2010 Executive Committee elections, installing Charles “Dom” D’Ascoli as the 2010-2012 ESA president and four new officers during the annual membership meeting at the Electronic Security Expo June 16. 

D’Ascoli, president, Smoky Mountain Systems Inc, Franklin, N.C., served from 2004–2009 as vice president and then served 2009–2010 as vice president/president elect.

His involvement with ESA includes serving as a North Carolina board member representative from 2001-2004 and as chair of the Standards and Elections committees. On the state level, D’Ascoli served from 1997–2006 as a North Carolina board member, twice as president in 2001 and 2005, and also served on the Georgia board as secretary in 1995 and 1996.

“ESA has meant so much to me and done so much to help my business. Being president gives me the opportunity to give back to the industry and the association. I hope to support the industry and other businesses in the same way that I’ve been supported,” said D’Ascoli.

Mike Horgan, owner of H&S Protection Systems Inc. in Stevens Point, Wisc., was elected to a two-year term as vice president.  John Knox, president/co-owner, Life & Property Security Systems Inc. of Knoxville, Tenn., was elected for a two-year term as vice president and Marshall Marinace, president, Marshall Alarm Systems of Yorktown, N.Y., was re-elected to a two-year term as vice president. Bill Cooper, industry liaison manager for ADT, was elected for a two-year term as secretary. 

“Officers are guardians of the reputation as well as the property of the association and play vital roles in its preservation and progress. It is their obligation to act for and on behalf of the association and to maintain and adhere to the highest standards of ethical conduct,” said Pittsburgh Fire Chief Darryl Jones, who swore in the new members.

The new terms begin July 1. Current president, Michael A. Miller, will continue to serve on the Executive Committee for two years as immediate past president.

  • Environmental Protection
  • Occupational Health & Safety
  • Infrastructure Solutions Group
  • Spaces4Learning
  • Campus Security & Life Safety